Mid-Year Celebration 2019

The 2RPH Mid-Year Celebration was held on Friday 23rd of August at the Glebe Town Hall in Glebe. The event brought together over 100 members, volunteers and the Board to celebrate and award the many contributions of the station's volunteers. Following the success of the first Mid-Year Celebration in 2018, this year saw volunteers who had been with the station for five, 10, 15 and 20 years awarded with certificates.

2RPH Chair Di Collins, who hosted the event, welcomed NSW Member for Sydney, Tanya Plibersek MP, who helped Deputy Chair Maria Issaris Walsh present certificates of recognition and appreciation to 20 volunteers who have contributed to 2RPH for five, 10, 15 and 20 years.

The volunteers who were awarded certificates included: for five years, Katie Brookes, Zev Fink, Fran Telec and Maggie Thompson; for 10 years, Tamara Kirby, Ariane Robb and Chris Schofield; for 15 years, John Ake, Rosemary Atkinson, Helen Bersten, David Dodds, Jim Fitzgerald, Colin Grayson and Howard Pritchard; and for 20 years, Pauline Chipman.

The volunteers who could not attend the celebration but whose names were read by Maria included: Cliff Hoey, Olivia Johnson and Linda Reitzin for five years; and Yvonne Ashfield and Dale Halloran for 10 years.

Ms Plibersek, who has a strong interest in community radio and volunteering, spoke of the importance of community within our modern society. She shared many special moments with a number of volunteers, and her attendance was a highlight for many people.

This year’s event also featured a listener panel, with Akbar Shirkarami (an Uber driver and refugee who listens to 2RPH to improve his English) and Joan Robertson (a listener and donor who is legally blind). Facilitated by 2RPH volunteer presenter Barbara Sullivan, the panel was a way to showcase some of the faces and insights of our diverse listenership.